Skip to main content
Latest news

Remembrance Day

By 13 November 2023November 17th, 2023No Comments

Proud Poppies

One of our Proud Traditions at NCS each November is to involve all our students in a creative collaborative activity by creating paper and clay poppies.


Nicholas Chamberlaine School took time to observe Remembrance on Friday 10/11/23.

Younger Griffins from Race Leys and Park Lane joined Nicholas Chamberlaine students in a programme of music and performance based around the theme of Remembrance, performing to members of the community including parents, Counsellor Martin Walsh (Mayor of Nuneaton and Bedworth) and Craig Tracey MP (Member of Parliament representing North Warwickshire and Bedworth) and Major Deepak Rai, Gurkha Regiment.

Some of our music students also took part in the remembrance event in two musical performances. The first to perform was a selection of our year 11 GCSE students who formed a string ensemble to play Jupiter by Gustav Holst. These
students were part of our first MiSST cohort and were honoured to perform one of their final pieces at this event.

The other performance came from our North Warwickshire Griffin Children’s Chorus which comprises of students from Nicholas Chamberlaine, Race Leys Junior School and Park Lane Primary. Our children performed a rendition of You will be Found from Dear Evan Hanson.

Remembrance Our KS3 Drama students read through a selection of World War 1 Poetry, taking time to remember those who made the greatest sacrifice. The spoken word was delivered beautifully and provided a moving insight into the war from the view of those on the front line.

Our performances were closed with the playing of the Last Post and the planting of ceramic poppies, constructed by our Year 7 students. Sales of our ceramic poppies raised over £400 for the Royal British Legion.

Special thanks go to Trevor Hounsome for playing the Last Post, a bugle call, to signify the end of the day’s activities. Also, to the following students for their service front of house: Kayla R, Harry A, Ashton C and Isaac W.